A theory of strikes? Or strikes as actions in building workers’ power?
Neoliberalism and the Strange Non-Death of Planning

Call for Nominations: 2019 AIPEN Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize

by Gareth Bryant on June 21, 2019

We are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2019 Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize. This is the fifth annual prize for the best article published in the broad field of International Political Economy (IPE) by an Australia-based academic.

For some time, it has been noticeable that, outside individual academic journals or associations, independent recognition of IPE scholarship in journal article form has been lacking. While there are independent and esteemed prize awards for academic book publishing, e.g. the British International Studies Association (BISA) International Political Economy Group Book Prize, the recognition of something similar for journal article accomplishment has been neglected.

As a consequence, we are announcing the 2019 Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize.

The Prize will be awarded to the best article published in IPE as deemed by a selection committee of IPE scholars. The award will be given to any article in IPE, understood in a pluralist sense to include the political economy of security, geography, literature, sociology, anthropology, post-coloniality, gender, finance, trade, regional studies, development and economic theory, in ways that can span concerns for in/security, poverty, inequality, sustainability, exploitation, deprivation and discrimination.

For that reason, it is fitting that the prize be named after Professor Richard Higgott. In a career spanning four decades, Richard has played a pivotal intellectual and practical role in establishing IPE as a thriving enterprise committed to theoretical innovation and inclusion in Australia and elsewhere. In 1987 he and Richard Leaver introduced the first graduate course in IPE at the ANU.  Author or editor of 20 books, research monographs and edited volumes, as well as over 120 journal articles and book chapters, Richard has been at the forefront of research on globalisation, global and regional governance, and international trade. He served as President of the Australian Political Studies Association and as Vice-President of the International Studies Association and has supervised some 25 PhD theses, including those by now leading scholars. He was also principal investigator on a number of large-scale grants, totaling some $30m, which facilitated the establishment of the Centre for the Study of Globalisation and Regionalisation at the University of Warwick and two major international scholarly networks providing funds for postdoctoral positions and PhD scholarships.

Nominations can be made by authors and/or academic colleagues for articles that were published in 2018, either in journal hardcopy or early online publication. These articles can be single-authored or multiple co-authored journal publications, published in international or Australia-based periodicals. The only requirement is that the author (for a single-authored piece) or one of the authors (for joint pieces) is based in Australia and that the winner commits to joining the AIPEN listserv and writing a short blog post on the wider import of their article for Progress in Political Economy (PPE).

Once nominated, the longlist of candidates will be circulated on the AIPEN elist and the PPE blog and AIPEN members will be invited to cast a vote for their top preferences. Votes will be tallied to make a shortlist of four, which will then be read in full and deliberated by a committee made up of Heloise Weber (University of Queensland), Sara Motta (University of Newcastle), Susan Park (University of Sydney), Gareth Bryant (University of Sydney), John Mikler (University of Sydney), Wesley Widmaier (the Australian National University) and Samanthi Gunawardana (Monash University) to decide on the eventual awardee.

The winner of the best journal article prize will then receive their award at the next Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) annual meeting. The winner will also receive a prize of $250.

The deadline for nominations for IPE-related articles matching the above wide-ranging and inclusive criteria is 30 August 2019. The full bibliographic reference, including link for early online publication, should be entered at http://bit.ly/AIPEN2019. The longlist will then be publicised in September, leaving time for the voting process to be completed in October, and then the committee will read the final four articles prior to announcing the winner in December.

Past Awardees

2018 – Maria Tanyag, ‘Invisible labor, invisible bodies: how the global political economy affects reproductive freedom in the Philippines’, International Feminist Journal of Politics, 19:1 (2017). 

2017 – Samanthi J. Gunawardana, ‘“To Finish, We Must Finish”: Everyday Practices of Depletion in Sri Lankan Export-Processing Zones’, Globalizations, 13:6 (2016).

2016 – Gareth Bryant, ‘“Fixing” the Climate Crisis: Capital, States and Carbon Offsetting in India’ (co-authored with Siddhartha Dabhi and Steffen Böhm), Environment and Planning A, 47:10 (2015).

2015 – Ainsley Elbra, ‘Interests Need Not be Pursued if They Can be Created: Private Governance in African Gold Mining’, Business and Politics, 16:2 (2014).

Gareth Bryant
Gareth Bryant is a Lecturer in the Department of Political Economy at the University of Sydney.

Leave a Response

Developed by Cemal Burak Tansel // Powered by Wordpress