Systemically Corrupt Capitalism
The Everyday Life of Global Capitalism, Global War, Global Crisis

Longlist for the 2018 Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize

by Gareth Bryant on October 15, 2018

The selection committee for the Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize is pleased to announce the articles nominated by AIPEN members for the longlist for the 2018 prize.

The prize will be awarded to the best article published in 2017 (online early or in print) in international political economy (IPE) by an Australia-based scholar.

The prize defines IPE in a pluralist sense to include the political economy of security, geography, literature, sociology, anthropology, post-coloniality, gender, finance, trade, regional studies, development and economic theory, in ways that can span concerns for in/security, poverty, inequality, sustainability, exploitation, deprivation and discrimination.

The overall prize winner will be decided by the selection committee, which this year consists of Heloise Weber (University of Queensland), Sara Motta (University of Newcastle), Susan Park (University of Sydney), Gareth Bryant (University of Sydney), John Mikler (University of Sydney), Samanthi Gunawardana (Monash) and Wesley Widmaier (the Australian National University).

Before that decision can be made, we now require AIPEN members to vote on the longlist to establish the final shortlist of five articles for deliberation.

Voting is being conducted online through Election Buddy and is open to all members of the AIPEN e-list. Voting is open from 9am on Monday 15 October and closes 5pm on Monday 29 October (AEDT).

Existing members should have received an email to the address they use to subscribe to the AIPEN e-list with instructions on how to vote.

Voting is also open to new subscribers to the AIPEN e-list. To subscribe, visit Once you have subscribed you will soon be added to the voter list and will receive an email with voting instructions.

If you have any questions about the voting process or have not received your email with voting instructions, please contact Gareth Bryant:

The 2018 longlist for The Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize is as follows:

Past Awardees

2017 – Samanthi J. Gunawardana, ‘“To Finish, We Must Finish”: Everyday Practices of Depletion in Sri Lankan Export-Processing Zones’, Globalizations, 13:6 (2016): 861-75.

2016 – Gareth Bryant, ‘“Fixing” the Climate Crisis: Capital, States and Carbon Offsetting in India’ (co-authored with Siddhartha Dabhi and Steffen Böhm), Environment and Planning A, 47:10 (2015).

2015 – Ainsley Elbra, ‘Interests Need Not be Pursued if They Can be Created: Private Governance in African Gold Mining’, Business and Politics, 16:2 (2014).


Gareth Bryant
Gareth Bryant is a Lecturer in the Department of Political Economy at the University of Sydney.

Leave a Response

Developed by Cemal Burak Tansel // Powered by Wordpress