What has Sociological Marxism ever done for us?
Taking a "fallow" period

2015 Shortlist for The Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) — Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize

by Adam David Morton on August 4, 2015

Following the launch of The Australian International Political Economy Network (AIPEN) — Richard Higgott Journal Article Prize, it is with great pleasure that the shortlist of articles can now be circulated.

To recap, the Prize will be awarded to the best article published in IPE as deemed by a selection committee of IPE scholars (consisting of Penny Griffin, Shahar Hameiri, Adam Morton, Jason Sharman, and Jacqui True) with the award given to any article in IPE, understood in a pluralist sense to include the political economy of security, geography, literature, sociology, anthropology, post-coloniality, gender, finance, trade, regional studies or economic theory.

Those on the listserv of AIPEN have already voted for their top three articles from the longlist and the votes have been collated and calculated. The voting was extremely close. Towards the cut-off deadline, there were five articles that kept shifting positions up to the final day of voting.

That said, three articles did emerge as clearly leading the voting process with the following squeezing on to the shortlist. The final three are as follows:

  1. Martijn Konings (2014) ‘Financial Affect’, Distinktion, 15(1): 37-53;
  2. Ainsley D. Elbra (2014), ‘Interests Need Not be Pursued If They Can be Created: Private Governance in African Gold Mining’, Business and Politics, 16(2): 247-26; and
  3. Heloise Weber (2014) ‘When Goals Collide: Politics of the MDGs and the Post-2015 Sustainable Development Goals Agenda’, The SAIS Review of International Affairs, 34(2): 129-39.

The prize committee are now looking forward to collectively reading these articles and announcing the outcome toward the end of the year. In addition to the award itself, the winner will also receive a cheque for $250.

Adam David Morton
Adam David Morton is Professor of Political Economy in the Department of Political Economy at the University of Sydney. He is author of Unravelling Gramsci: Hegemony and Passive Revolution in the Global Political Economy (2007); Revolution and State in Modern Mexico: The Political Economy of Uneven Development (2011), recipient of the 2012 Book Prize of the British International Studies Association (BISA) International Political Economy Group (IPEG); and co-author of Global Capitalism, Global War, Global Crisis (2018) with Andreas Bieler. He co-edits Progress in Political Economy (PPE) with Gareth Bryant that was the recipient of the 2017 International Studies Association (ISA) Online Media Caucus Award for the Best Blog (Group) and the 2018 International Studies Association (ISA) Online Media Caucus Award for Special Achievement in International Studies Online Media.

Leave a Response

Developed by Cemal Burak Tansel // Powered by Wordpress